In the News

Take a look at Calhoun Companies' news written by our business brokers in Minnesota for advice & guidance in buying & selling a business!

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Login
    Login Login form
Posted by on in Industry
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2256
  • Print

2016 Champions of Business Awards

FB profile 180x180 version1Every year since 1963, the U.S. Small Business Administration has hosted National Small Business week to recognize the critical contributions of America’s entrepreneurs and small business owners. In Minnesota alone, there are nearly 500,000 small businesses, employing more than 1.2 million workers.

During this year’s National Small Business Week, Calhoun Companies, Thompson Hall and C-Level Magazine will co-sponsor the second annual Champions of Business awards to recognize distinct and exemplary businesses and leaders in the Twin Cities metro area.

Date: Nominations will be accepted from February 1, 2016 through March 1, 2016. Winners will be announced during National Small Business Week in May.

Eligibility: Candidates must be owners, employees or professional service providers who work with independently owned businesses with 500 or fewer employees in the Twin Cities metro area.

Awards: There will be 5 award categories, designed to highlight exemplary small businesses and the people who support them.

Social Entrepreneur – This organization has created social change for the world and community around them. It believes in people over profit and its goal is to create large scale and systemic social change. This organization embraces the triple bottom-line approach: people, planet and profit.

Right-Hand – This award recognizes the business owners “right-hand,” an employee who has gone above and beyond in their role within the organization. He or she has continuously shown exemplary work ethic, positivity, self-motivation and strong performance while remaining modest and humble.

Woman of the Year – This woman has distinguished herself within her organization, profession and community. She has shown excellence in leadership, business growth and innovation. She has contributed to her field and the community she lives and works in.

Industry & Community Leader – This person is a leader within the community, their profession and organization. This person has demonstrated a positive impact on their community. This person is a dedicated and active leader that provides guidance to others while trailblazing into the future.

Small Business Champion of the Year – This organization has provided benefits for their community and demonstrated excellence in their industry. This organization has an encouraging work environment and leads their industry in innovation and positive change.

Do you know a Champion of Small Business? Nominate them starting February 1, 2016!

Logos Space


Keep up with the latest Champions of Business Awards news on Twitter by following #TCSBW16




Last modified on